A felt need of the locality to have a High School was realized in the year 1977. Sr Paula, the headmistress of Gulabi High School, repeatedly appealed to the Education Department for necessary permission. Mr Mallikarjuna Kharge was the Education Minister and permission was granted on 21 June 1977. The School was opened on 23 June 1977 with 25 students. Sr Simplina was appointed as the first Headmistress of Jyothi High School. Standards IX and X were added during the successive years. Recognition for Standard VIII was obtained in 1978. Construction of the High School building started on 1st January 1979. A Science Laboratory was inaugurated on 19th January 1980 and the School was admitted to grant-in-aid in 1982. Sr. Paula was appointed the Jyothi High School in June 1983. Additional sections were opened of Standards VIII, IX and X in 1984, 1985 and 1986 respectively. The High School got permanent recognition in 1985.
The strength in the School was increasing year after year. The hard work of the staff was rewarded as the students excelled in extracurricular activities and sports even though their academic performance was just average. Most of the students come from the lower middle class and poor families. They were deprived of suitable atmosphere for studies in their families. The Headmistress and teachers arranged for special coaching after class hours bestowing on them love and care.
The year 2002 marked the Silver Jubilee of Jyothi High School. Both spiritual and cultural celebrations were organized under the leadership of Sr Philomena Saldanha, the Superior and Sr. Louisia, the Headmistress.

The following were the Headmistresses of the School: Sr Simplina 1977-1983; Sr Paula 1983-1998; Sr Rose Ann 1998-2001; Sr Louisia 2001-2003; Sr Rose Ann 2003-2005; Sr Simon 2005-2008; Sr Louisa Mary (Headmistress  in- charge) February 2008 to April 2008; Sr Marian 2008-2015; Mr K. Sanjeeva Markala is the Headmaster since 2015 and Sr Ann Teresa is the present Correspondent.


Jyothi High School, Kacharkanahalli,

St Thomas Town Post, Bangalore, Karnataka-560084

Telephone No 080-25460278
E-mail ID This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Year of Establishment 1977
Status VIII - X
Aided/Unaided Aided
Affiliated to Karnataka State Board
Headmaster Mr R Kulandai Raj
Correspondent Sr Ann Teresa BS




Sr Ann Teresa BS


Mr R Kulandai Raj

School Building





Home | About | NewsSitemap | Contact Us

Copyright © 2016-2024 - www.besmangalore.org . Powered by eCreators

Contact us

Bethany Educational Society®
Bethany Convent
Bendur, Mangalore-575002
D.K. Dist, Karnataka State

E-mail : [email protected]